We Stand Up in Atlanta

After New Orleans, we stopped in Savannah for family time where no book duties were had.

Then, we set off to Atlanta! Where in the world did the tour take Casandra and Juli this time?

Take selling strategy F and apply to city of Atlanta.

-Head to non-profit organizations (group homes, youth shelters, family shelters) and donate books + art workshops with the residents.

A. I chose this approach because I wanted to work with people and children. Giving them an art lesson provides us with a therapeutic, joyful experience. I have all the materials, and so much to share. Drawing ignites a certain amount of joy in me and I hope it’s infectious. I hope it brightens someone else’s day. That’s why I am out here on the road.

-Execute plan: Research places, head to said places, fall flat on your face!

A. All shelters and children organizations take weeks to process such a request. A background check, volunteer applications, and more paperwork are all needed for a person to interact with the people within a shelter.

I understand this. I do. There are rapists, murderers, and kidnappers out there who have agendas we could never understand. However, I am dismayed at our inability to go with whims–to embrace sudden events and to trust that the world around us is good. I am a girl with hundreds of bright, colorful books in her trunk and bunches of art supplies, trying to share the joy and magic of art. A $25 background check plus all the paperwork and time won’t give you any more information you didn’t already know.

At one point, I asked a volunteer coordinator, “So if I was a world famous artist, they would still need to go through this vetting process if they wanted to host a workshop at your center?”

Fair enough to her, she said, “Yes, if they wanted to interact with the children here, they would need to go through the process.”

So now, I don’t rely on whims for events, and will try to plan for more of these events weeks in advance. 🙂

Approach selling strategy G when F fails.

What is Atlanta known for? Stand-up Comedy. A lot of amateur comedians flock to Atlanta to hone out their craft. Professionals stop there for shows.

Ok, Cassie. Go with the city. You can do it. There’s already an audience right there for you.”

Sweat. Nerves. Anxious adrenaline. What??

The first night we went to a professional open-mic at Star Community Bar. The show is booked and ended with a man who will be on Last Comic Standing soon, Clayton English.

In witnessing my first live stand-up, the show was great! My stomach muscles were happy with their workout. The comedians were honest in themselves and earnest in their deliveries. So after the hoopala and cheers of enjoying the show, it would soon be my turn. I was there to observe and learn as much as I could about stand-up comedy for my act the next night.

The next day turned out to be quite the day of preparation. Atlanta has a great Google doc that shows where all the open-mic comedy shows are going to be. I chose the friendliest, least professional looking event. I sat down at a cafe and wrote out my act. I repeated said act in my head for the remainder of the day. Yet, I refused to practice in front of Juli. Sometimes, putting yourself out there is embarrassing. Actually most of the time it is. But then your name gets called, and you must do what you set out to do.

At least, it’s comedy so I could laugh off the feelings of insecurities, doubt, and sheer ineptitude. I went up there at WonderRoot, joked about myself while performing, and people walked away with The SUN Dance in hand. 

short video can be found on instagram of me doing stand-up comedy in atlanta @s.oa.r  

Next up: What happens when we head into Nashville for two days?

4 thoughts on “We Stand Up in Atlanta

    1. Cheers! have you been able to collaborate with anybody on your flag series in putting them up in various locations?

      1. We went to Detroit last week for a Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo show at the Detroit Institute of Art, and while exploring the city in our down time, we left 21 large ‘unfoldable’ pieces of art around the city, for people to find. We had fun. We were able to photograph our work in Detroit locations, and we met nice people and visited cool places. As far as finding collaborators to send work to, no. But that’s no setback. I now live in continuous work mode, and I’ll keep trying. And hey – in the event, while you’re on the road doing it, you happen upon an artist you’d recommend to us, please feel free to make the connection! We want to communicate with other artists, from other cities, through mail. Exchange work, photograph it in our settings, and then exchange photographs. Cheers back to you! – JM

Leave a comment